Skip to content

Prejudice

November 9, 2008

Give me some feed back on the message from Sunday. Do you think that Christians is general are guilty of the sin of prejudice? How about you? I really checked my heart to see if I am secretly holding feelings of prejudice. Peter was definitely guilty. God had to send him a vision (Acts 10) to correct his prejudice. Jews and Gentiles, blacks and whites, legal/illegal immigrants, the list is long. There is nothing wrong with strong feelings of nationalism and patriotism. America is a great country. But we need to remember that God has blessed us because He is good; not because we are good! He chose Israel and made them what they are but they have not done what He said. He has blessed the USA. But we are not doing what He says. I fear that our immorality (whatever form it takes) makes us candidates for judgment not blessing. We need to repent as individuals and a nation. Nations are represented in heaven. But only the REDEEMED of those nations. “Nations” don’t automatically go to heaven. Only believers from those nations.

After these things I looked, and behold, a great multitude which no one could number, of all nations, tribes, peoples, and tongues, standing before the throne and before the Lamb, clothed with white robes, with palm branches in their hands… Revelation 7:9-10

Hey, you may have the most unlikely neighbor in heaven. You can choose who you live next to here but we are all together there!!

g

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dana permalink
    November 9, 2008 4:42 pm

    In general? Of course. On an individual basis? More than likely. I have found very few people out there that are totally and comletely open to everything.

    I have difficulty with mean people. If I’m honest, I have issues with stupid people too. Am I right? Not at all. But I am aware of the problem and that makes for part of a solution too. I can only pray for help because alone I’m unable to do it.

    I am so sorry I missed your sermon. We were sitting on the side of the highway freezing with no jack.

  2. Michael Elam permalink
    November 14, 2008 6:19 pm

    brother gordon you were on track with this sermon some people wouldnot even go out to the northside of town but they would go out south and witness is that kind of prejudice? it was a wonderful point about not reaching pepole of color here is how we can them start up the bus ministry

Leave a Reply

