Skip to content

Different translations

November 12, 2008

Last Sunday we looked at the story of Cornelius and his need for a clear word from Peter about salvation in Jesus Christ. In the second part of Acts 10:6 the NKJV says “He (Peter) will tell you (Cornelius) what you must do. This phrase is omitted from the NIV, NASB, ESV and several others. The reason is that translations are based upon an underlying Greek text. If the Greek text does not contain the word or phrase then the English text will not have it either. This is not bad, it is just a fact.

On Sunday I told the congregation to underline or mark the part that says “what you must do”. It is important to me because Cornelius was devout, generous, prayerful, of good reputation, a God fearing man and yet not in the kingdom, not saved, not born again. He had to hear the message from Peter. Without the message he would have remained religious but not in the Kingdom. The same word “dei” translated “must” “ought” “should” appears in John when Jesus says “You must be born again” and later when talking to the Samaritan woman, “He (Jesus) must (had to) go through Samaria”.

Therefore, everyone using the NIV, NASB, ESV, didn’t know what I was asking them to do with verse 6. Maybe I should have looked at those translations first (I usually do) but there are 48 verses in Acts 10 to compare. It is obvious without the phrase in question that Cornelius had to hear Peter’s message. God went to great lengths to overcome Peter’s prejudice and gave them both visions to get them together.

I’m not saying that there is something evil about modern translations. There is not one translation that is used by God or approved by God. I compare them all the time. I pray that what I share would be clear to you, Biblical, accurately interpreted and Spirit empowered.

What is my point. I really don’t have a point except to say that when we have a half a dozen or more translations in the congregation it makes my job a little harder. If you noticed the difference, I praise the Lord that you were listening carefully!!!

Did you notice??

g

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

