Skip to content

Memory Verse of the Month

November 22, 2008

Scripture memory is something that God encouraged me to do when I first became a believer. Along with a hunger for the Bible came a desire to learn verses by memory. During my regular reading, a verse would “jump off the page” or grab my attention. I began to learn some of them by heart. One of the first was “Your word I have hidden in my heart that I might not sin against You” Psalm 119:11. Memorized Scripture was a weapon that helped me with saying “No!” to  sin.

As your pastor I wanted to encourage you to memorize Scripture so we began to put a memory verse for the week in our Sunday bulletin. The task became overwhelming for many of us. Every week a new verse and then the review of the previous verses.  We changed our strategy to a verse for each month. I think this is very doable.

I hope you are taking the challenge! Below is the verse for November 2008 in three translations. I will try to make a periodic post to keep the challenge before you. It would be great if you would give me some feedback as to your progress or methods that you use to memorize Scripture. Your comments might help someone else.

Now thanks [be] to God who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and through us diffuses the fragrance of His knowledge in every place. NKJV

But thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and manifests through us the sweet aroma of the knowledge of Him in every place. NASB

But thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumphal procession in Christ and through us spreads everywhere the fragrance of the knowledge of him. NIV

g

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

