Skip to content

Stuck

December 18, 2008

Why did I do that? I knew better. I even told myself to be careful but I blew it anyway. I really want to do what is right but I don’t. I end up doing what I don’t want to do too much of the time.

I blow up at my wife, my kids.

I think the same negative thoughts.

I tell myself to focus on Scripture but I end up worrying about the same stupid thing.

I make up my mind to put a spiritual discipline in practice and I don’t come through.

I feel like I’ve lost control.

I say harsh things and later regret it; but the damage is done.

I want to stay on that diet but everything looks so good and I’m sooo hungry. Then I eat and feel guilty.

I make promises and then break them.

I know what I’m doing is wrong but I do it anyway.

Does any of they above seem remotely familiar? You could fill in your own struggles.

You may be STUCK in what is described in Romans 7. The struggle can be with the LAW of God or your own “Christian LAW”. Romans 7 teaches us that we are dead to the law (7:4). The Law of God is not our means of right standing with God (Romans 3:20; Phil 3:9). Keeping rules whether they are yours or God’s can’t make you right with God or keep you right with Him.

The Holy Spirit is our power for living the Christian life. The Law of the Spirit has set us free from the Law of sin and death (Romans 8). The Holy Spirit will always produce in us far more that merely trying to keep all the dos and don’ts! He will always take us to a higher level.

I told our congregation that if a person was to memorize Romans 6, 7, and 8 and understand the principles taught in these three chapters they would have very few problems in their Christian life. I’m not talking about the problems of life; Paul did not have an “easy life”. I’m talking about the struggles mentioned above in this post. Paul went through the struggle; chapter 7 of Romans is autobiography.

I challenged our staff to memorize Romans 7. I want to be able to recite it by memory. I want to have the Scriptures to be such a part of my life that they flow out with ease. I’ve already lost you? You can’t do it? Why? There is no law or rule that say’s you HAVE to do this. Scripture memory is a discipline that is life altering.

More later…

Gordon

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

