Skip to content

Earthquakes

February 7, 2010

The recent earthquake in Haiti and news reports are heartbreaking. I hope that I will not forget the tragedy. If I’m honest with myself I know that it will become like September 11. I haven’t forgotten but it doesn’t come into my thoughts everyday.

I have been thinking more about earthquakes though. I have been recalling Scripture verses that mention them. Earthquakes are mentioned about 20 times in the Bible (depending upon the translation).

Here are a few: 1 Kings 19:11-12, Matthew 24:7, 27:54, 28:2, Rev. 11:13, 19.

In Isaiah 2:19 the word “earthquake” is not used, but whatever God is going to do I don’t want to be around when it happens.

They shall go into the holes of the rocks, and into the caves of the earth, from the terror of the Lord and the glory of His majesty, when He arises to shake the earth mightily.

I read the ICR devotional Days of Praise each morning. I would encourage you to check out their website and read it yourself. It just happens to deal with earthquakes. On the web page you will discover other important info that deals with science and the Scriptures.

http://www.icr.org

Gordon

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jerry permalink
    February 8, 2010 9:31 am

    Ther is a websight on earthquakes the Bible mentions them about 20 times there are a lot of earthquakes every week on this websight you can point and click to any of them and the information will come up if you point at any country a map will come up and show you the fauld lines or plates Haiti has one going thru it.
    http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/recenteqsww/

Leave a Reply

